top of page

How to Girl Boss in College 101

By. Dhara Patel





College can be a scary and wonderful transition for anyone. No matter what your major is, no one prepares you for the harsh reality of marketing yourself to future employers and the importance of gaining as much real-world experience as possible. I am currently a junior at the Pamplin College of Business, but when I was a freshman, I did not realize that doing well in your major-related classes was enough to stand out. Getting denied from an organization that I thought I was a shoo-in, motivated me to gain as much knowledge and real-world experience as possible so I could apply again. As I sit back and look at my college experience, I am glad I was able to fail because it motivated me to become more knowledgeable and confident in my work. I am so grateful for all I have learned so far and continue to push myself to experience as much hands-on work as I can. Therefore, I want to share some tips and tricks that I have learned and personally helped me through the tough world of extracurriculars and internships


1. As harsh of a reality it is, what you did in high school is no longer applicable to employers.


College is a clean slate. You have to be able to get involved in ways that help show off your best

qualities, but also in ways that are related to what you want to do in the future.


2. Try new things!

Push yourself to step out of your comfort zone to try things that you never thought you would enjoy. During my first two years as an undergrad, I was able to be a part of our campus Victoria Secret Campus Team. When I applied it was something I was not really sure I wanted to do, but I am so glad I did. It not only helped me realize I love the creative side of marketing and social media, but it also helped me learn that I have a talent for organizing and planning content shoots (even though taking pictures is my least favorite thing in the world).


3. Make LinkedIn your best friend.


LinkedIn is the best way for you to stand out in the crowd to future employers. Make connections and spark up conversations that will help you network yourself to land your dream job. I was first introduced to LinkedIn in a Careers in Marketing class (if your major has careers PLEASE take the one credit…it's worth it). I didn’t realize how similar it is to social media but in a professional setting. The platform allows you to not only show off all the things you have accomplished but see what other people in your industry are doing as well. The presentation of LinkedIn is everything, so ensure your profile not only reflects your personal style but how far you have come in a professional sense. This will help you network with the people around you or who have related interests.


4. Having a good resume is golden.

Having a resume that not only looks good physically but makes you look good is one of the most important ways to catch employers’ eyes. I am not one who likes to showcase or talk about the “cool” work I have done, but drafting my resume over and over again made me realize that it's okay to show yourself off. When making your resume it's good to have a balance of skills but also quantifiable things you have done. For example, it's good to show off that you know how to work a certain platform, but it helps to talk about how you increased or improved said platform with numbers. Quantifying your skills helps show employers that you know how to apply what you've learned and that it's working in a real-life situation.


5. Gain real-world experience.


What you learn in the classroom can only help you so far, actually applying those skills is what will help you in the long run. One of the best things that I was able to do on-campus, in addition to being socially involved in Greek life, was to join a professional organization. I am currently a member of PRISM at a student-run marketing agency on-campus which has taught me about what I want to do in the future more than sitting in the actual classroom has. In addition to PRISM, I was able to dip my toes into a whole new segment of marketing this summer which helped me learn what interests and disinterests me. In addition, gaining real-world experience helps you make connections with people in the industry who are dedicated to helping you learn more and succeed in the future.


At the end of the day, taking a step into the professional world can be crazy; but there are so many resources within the university and its organizations.. When I start to get overwhelmed with where to start, one of my favorite resources to use is Intern Queen, a career-focused site targeted towards college students and the ins and outs of marketing your own personal brand. Using resources around me, whether it is the internet, professors, and/ or friends has helped me not only gain confidence in being a “Girl Boss,” but give me a glimpse into my post-graduate, professional life.






Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Be sure to check out our posts written by our sisters and dive into a deeper look at Gamma Phi Beta Eta Epsilon.

 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page